Puffed Rice Nuts n Dates Ladoo

2015/01/img_3498.jpgI got whole grain puffed brown rice cereal from Whole Foods and instead of making the traditional Murmura ladoo, I wanted to try out something quick and unique. Nuts, dates and puffed rice, Mmm! why not combine them and make it into a ladoo I thought 🙂

Makes: Around 40 ladoos

Preparation time: 5-7 minutes

Ingredients

  • 3 cups puffed rice
    • You can use any variety, I used whole grain puffed brown rice. The puffed rice you get in USA is similar to the “Aval Pori” that we get in India during Karthigai month. I would recommend you to slightly dry roast the puffed rice
    • This is what I used :
      2015/01/img_3518.jpg
  • 2 1/4 cup roasted and coarsely powdered nuts (I used roasted walnuts and almonds)
  • 1 cup dates
  • 1/2 cup oil or melted ghee (I used Canola oil, but as I taste this ladoo I can imagine how delicious it would taste with ghee too 🙂 )

Method:

  • Combine the puffed rice, nut powder in a food processor
  • Add spoonfuls of oil and mix well to form a semi-soft dough  (Dough should not be too soft or dry, just right to roll out into ladoos)
  • 2015/01/img_3471.jpg2015/01/img_3472.jpg
  • Roll out the dough into ladoos and store in an air tight container

Now, it’s time to relish the ladoos 🙂

One thought on “Puffed Rice Nuts n Dates Ladoo

Leave a Reply

