Onam Special Feast/Sadhya

IMG_0193

 

Happy Onam! Ona Sadhya (feast) is an integral part of this joyous occasion. It is best enjoyed on a banana leaf. This blog post is dedicated to Ona Sadhya. It takes a long time to write one single blog post, so I will updating this blog with the different items in the menu, as and when I complete the posts 🙂 . I am starting with the sweet dish “Millet Payasam”. I wanted to try out a different payasam for Onam. Traditionally Pradhaman is made for Onam, but it’s a very rich payasam and I wanted to make a healthier payasam this Onam. The jaggery millet payasam is inspired by “Srirangam Radhu” mami’s recipe for Thinai Payasam. My mom tried it out and this inspired me to try it out too 🙂 My next recipe would be “Inji Puli”

Our menu for Ona Sadhya was as follows:

  • Jaggery Millet Payasam
  • Banana Pachadi
  • Tomato Khichadi
  • Inji Puli
  • Sambhar
  • Avial
  • Kalan
  • Olan
  • Rasam
  • Koorkai (Chinese potato) fry
  • Dal Boli

Millet Payasam: 

IMG_0191

Inji Puli 

IMG_0211

2 thoughts on “Onam Special Feast/Sadhya

Leave a Reply

